Call for nominations: Diana Forsythe Prize

The Diana Forsythe Prize was created in 1998 to celebrate the best book or series of published articles in the spirit of Diana Forsythe’s feminist anthropological research on work, science, or technology, including biomedicine. The prize is awarded annually at the AAA meeting by a committee consisting of one representative from the Society for the Anthropology of Work (SAW) and two from the Committee on the Anthropology of Science, Technology and Computing (CASTAC). It is supported by the General Anthropology Division (GAD) and Bern Shen.

Self-nominations are welcomed. To be eligible, books (or article series) must have been published in the last five years (copyright of 2008 or later). The current submission deadline is May 1, 2013 (early nominations appreciated) and nominations should be sent via email to Selection Committee Chair, Marcia Inhorn at Publishers, please send a copy of nominated titles to each of the selection committee members listed below.

Marcia C. Inhorn
Yale University
Department of Anthropology
10 Sachem Street
New Haven, CT 06520
Joao Biehl
128 Aaron Burr Hall
Department of Anthropology
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ 08544
Susanne Cohen
Department of Anthropology
University of Chicago
1126 East 59th Street
Chicago, IL 60637

Recent prize recipients include Rene Almeling for Sex Cells: The Medical Market for Eggs and Sperm (University of California Press, 2011), Alexander Edmonds for Pretty Modern: Beauty, Sex and Plastic Surgery in Brazil (Duke University Press, 2010), Elly Teman for Birthing a Mother, The Surrogate Body and the Pregnant Self (University of California Press, 2010), and Emily Martin for Bipolar Expeditions: Mania and Depression in American Culture (Princeton University Press, 2007).