Deadline: July 1, awarded every year.
The Eileen Basker Memorial Prize was founded by Virginia R. Dominguez in collaboration with the AAA’s Society for Medical Anthropology in 1987 following the death of Israeli-American critical medical anthropologist and feminist, Eileen Basker, in October 1986.

The SMA welcomes nominations for the Eileen Basker Memorial Prize, awarded annually for a significant contribution to scholarship on gender and health by scholars from any discipline or nation, for a specific book, article, film, or exceptional PhD thesis produced within the preceding three years. The Prize is awarded to the work judged to be the most courageous, significant, and potentially influential contribution to scholarship in the area of gender and health. Winners receive a $1000 cash award and are recognized at the SMA business meeting during the AAA.

Nominations are invited from one or more scholars in the form of a letter indicating the impact of the particular work on the field. Letters must be submitted by scholars, and self-nomination is not permitted. Publishers of nominated books are expected to supply three copies of the relevant work to the Prize Committee.

The deadline for receipt of materials is yearly on July 1.  Inquiries and nominations should be sent to the chair of the Basker Prize Committee:

Dr. Sarah Willen –
Department of Anthropology
University of Connecticut
354 Mansfield Rd., U-1176
Storrs, CT  06269-1176

The winners of the Basker Prize are as follows:

2013: Alexander Edmonds — Pretty Modern; Honorable mention to Kimberly Theidon for Intimate Enemies
2012: Carole Browner and Carolyn Sargent – Reproduction, Globalization, and The State
: Ida Susser – Aids, Sex, and Culture; and Leslie Regan – Dangerous Pregnancies

2010: Elly Teman – Birthing A Mother
2009: Janelle Taylor – The Public Life Of The Fetal Sonogram
2008: Matt Gutmann – Fixing Men; and Kathy Davis – The Making Of Our Bodies Ourselves
2007: Sophie Day – On The Game
2006: Michele Rivkin-Fish – Women’s Health In Post-Soviet Russia
2005: Joao Biehl – Vita
2004: Sandra Morgen – Into Our Hands
2003: Caroline Bledsoe (and Fatoumatta Banja) – Contingent Lives
2002: Rhoda Kanaaneh – Birthing The Nation
2001:  Susan Kahn – Reproducing Jews
2000: Gelya Frank – Venus On Wheels
1999: Rayna Rapp - Testing Women, Testing The Fetus; and Adele Clarke – Disciplining Reproduction
1998: Emily Martin – The Woman In The Body
1998: No Prize (As Per Decision Of The Selection Committee)
1997: Paul Farmer, Margaret Connors, and Janie Simmons – Women, Poverty, and Aids
1996: No Prize (As Per Decision Of The Selection Committee)
1995: Marcia Inhorn – Quest For Conception
1994: Margarete Sandelowski – With Child In Mind
1993: Barbara Duden – The Woman Beneath The Skin; and Margaret Lock – Encounters With Aging
1992: Nancy Scheper-Hughes – Death Without Weeping
1991: No Prize (Due To A Change In Personnel)
1990: Faye Ginsburg – Contested Lives
1988: Joan Jacobs Brumberg – Fasting Girls