Career Achievement Award

Deadline July 1, now awarded in even numbered years

The Career Achievement Award honors an individual who has advanced the field of medical anthropology through career-long contributions to theory or method, and who has been successful in communicating the relevance of medical anthropology to broader publics. Candidates for this award should be senior scholars, typically those who are retiring, or have achieved emeritus status, or have passed the age of 65. (Under unusual circumstances exceptions to this rule may be made by the Selection Committee with the approval of the SMA Executive Committee.)

Past recipients include Robert A. Hahn (2012), Stephen L. Schensul (2010), Charles Leslie (2009), Mark Nichter (2008) and Lorna Rhodes (2008), Ronnie Frankenberg (2007) and Margaret Lock (2007), Arthur Kleinman (2006), George Foster (2005), and Cecil Helman (2004).

A new Career Achievement Award Chair will be selected in early 2014.